JAS Timber

What makes PEFC unique?

What Makes PEFCTM Unique?

As the world's largest forest certi­fica­tion system, PEFCTM remains the certi­fica­tion system of choice for small, non-industrial private forests, with hundreds of thousands of family forest owners certified to comply with our inter­nati­onally recognized Susta­ina­bility Benchmark.

To date, more than 18,800 companies have obtained PEFC Chain of Custody certi­fica­tion, offering tens of thousands of PEFC-certified products globally.

With alternative forest certi­fica­tion systems available, there are good reasons why so many people are opting for PEFC, which remains the only entirely not-for-profit global certi­fica­tion system.

PEFCTM is the only global certi­fica­tion system that:

Upholds Highest Standards without Exception

  • Requires compliance with all fundamental ILO Conventions in forest management since 2001, setting new benchmarks for social issues
  • Is tailored to the specific needs of family– and community-owned forests, with lasting contri­butions to livelihoods and rural development
  • Offers well-established processes for group certi­fica­tion, providing access to certi­fica­tion and the marketplace for certified products from locally controlled forestry
  • Sets the highest standards for forest certi­fica­tion aligned with the majority of the world’­s governments, including
    • Maintaining or enhancing biodiversity
    • Protecting ecologically important forest area
    • Prohibition of forest conversions; exclusion of certi­fica­tion of plantations established by conversions
    • Prohibition of the most hazardous chemicals and GMOs
    • Protecting workers’ rights and welfare, and encouraging local employment
    • Recognizing the principle of free, prior and informed consent (FPIC), the UN Declaration on Indigenous Peoples’ Rights, and ILO Convention 169 on Indigenous and Tribal Peoples
    • Respect for property and land tenure rights as well as customary and traditional rights
    • Provisions for consultation with local people and stakeholders
    • Abiding by applicable laws
    • Safeguarding the basic rights of workers
  • Requires companies to demonstrate compliance with social, health and safety requirements in Chain of Custody certi­fica­tion.

Level of Stakeholder  Engagement Equally High for All Standards

  • Strictly separates standard-setting, certi­fica­tion and accre­dita­tion to ensure complete independence and impartiality
  • Requires all national standards to be inde­pen­dently developed with the open parti­cipa­tion of all interested parties
  • Recognizes the importance of the nine major groups as defined by Agenda 21 (CSD Major Groups)
  • Requires that all standards undergo public consultation at national and inter­national level and third-party assessment
  • Demands and implements regular revisions of national certi­fica­tion systems.

Builds on Inter­gov­er­nmental Agreements & Globally Recognized  Processes

  • Builds its under­standing of sustainable forest management on broad societal consensus expressed in inter­national and inter­gov­er­nmental processes
  • Supports the imple­men­ta­tion of governmental agreements through a voluntary, market-based mechanism
  • Follows globally accepted ISO Guidelines for certi­fica­tion and accre­dita­tion.
Posted in News and Offers on